australia day honours

Australia Day Honours 2021

4 February, 2021

This year eight Cranlana Centre alumni were awarded Australia Day Honours, recognising their service to their communities and contribution to building a just, prosperous and sustainable society. We offer our warmest congratulations to each on these well deserved awards.


Tanya Hosch is the first Indigenous person and second woman appointed to the AFL executive. She has held leadership roles in sport, the arts, culture, social justice and public policy.

One of the pre-eminent Indigenous leaders pursuing constitutional recognition of Australia’s First Nations people, Tanya’s principled leadership is transforming the AFL – advancing women, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, gender-diverse Australians and the entire community.

Tanya championed the first Indigenous player statue of Nicky Winmar and instigated a review of anti-vilification policy within the code. She helped secure an apology for Adam Goodes from the AFL and delivered a new industry framework to help prevent racist treatment of players.

Tanya also helped found advocacy organisation The Indigenous Players Alliance. She drove a new respect and responsibility policy enabling women to seek redress for unacceptable behaviour, and a world-first gender diversity policy for a contact sport. In 2020, she drove a hugely successful social media campaign aimed at informing and protecting Indigenous communities from COVID-19.


  • Rabbi Dr John Simon Levi AM – For eminent service to Judaism through seminal roles with religious, community and historical organisations, to the advancement of interfaith understanding, tolerance and collaboration, and to education.


  • Paula Benson  – For significant service to people living with ovarian cancer, and to business.
  • Catherine Harboe-Ree – For significant service to the library and information services.
  • Fiona Harris – For significant service to the finance, investment, resources and not-for-profit sectors.
  • Barbara Hingston – For significant service to community health, and to people with disabilities.
  • Lindy Hume – For significant service to the performing arts, particularly to opera.
  • Dr George Lefroy – For signifiant service to the community through philanthropic support initiatives.


  • Alistair Urquhart – For signifiant service to people with a disability through employment initiatives.

The full Australia Day Honours list can be found here

We celebrate this recognition of our alumni and their contributions. We also acknowledge that 26 January is not a day of celebration for all Australians.

Cranlana Centre for Ethical Leadership’s programs include the 2 day Executive Ethics, 6 day Executive Colloquium and year-long Vincent Fairfax Fellowship. We also deliver online and tailored corporate programs. Find the right program for you. They are all held under the Chatham House Rule to encourage genuine and open debate, and allow participants to candidly discuss sometimes sensitive issues in private while allowing the topic and nature of the debate to be made public, and contribute to a broader conversation. The alumni program offers ongoing leadership development support and a lifelong connection with Cranlana.

📷 James Wainscoat on Unsplash